2024 Awards of Excellence

The annual Queen Creek Unified School District (QCUSD) awards of excellence celebrate outstanding educators and staff members who have shown dedication to serving both students and the community. The QCUSD awards of excellence honor individuals who achieve excellence, lead with integrity, and empower others around them. These individuals also embody the core expectations of QCUSD: Be kind. Be respectful. Show integrity. Each year, school and district staff members have the opportunity to anonymously nominate their peers for this award. Following the nominations, a committee carefully selects two winners from each school to receive the awards of excellence.

This year we proudly acknowledged 28 teachers and staff members for their noteworthy contributions to QCUSD.

Award winners were surprised with the good news during the school day by Superintendent Dr. Berry, so the award could be celebrated surrounded by their students and colleagues. A ceremony took place at the Queen Creek Performing Arts Center to formally acknowledge their awards and contributions to QCUSD. 

Superintendent Dr. Perry Berry pictured with award of excellence nominee Jeff Sutter and QCES Principal Dawn Michaelson Superintendent Dr. Perry Berry pictured with award of excellence nominee Jenna Thrall and Katherine Mecham Barney Elementary principal Dawn Harrington Superintendent Dr. Perry Berry pictured with award of excellence nominee Tiffany Cooney and Desert Mountain Elementary principal Erin Pillsbury

Below you will find the complete list of this year's award-winners:

Desert Mountain Elementary

  • Tiffany Cooney - 3rd and 4th Grade Teacher
  • Ruth Martinez - Instructional Aide/Flex

Schnepf Elementary

  • Suzanne McCullough - PE Teacher
  • Tatiana Eslinger - Crossing Guard/IA Reading

Faith Mather Sossaman Elementary

  • Sara Hardwick - 3rd Grade Teacher 
  • Kim Joynt - Administrative Clerk

Silver Valley Elementary

  • Sisley Heitzman - 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Ralph Meade - Instructional Aide/Flex

Frances Brandon-Pickett Elementary

  • Dana Miklus - 6th Grade Teacher
  • Megan Andrews - Crossing Guard/Aide Flex

Newell Barney Junior High School

  • Theresa Murtha - SPED S Teacher/C Cross Cat
  • Manuel Martinez - Security Guard

Gateway Polytechnic Academy

  • Amanda McGuire - 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Meghan Barrett - Instructional Aide/SPED

Queen Creek Junior High School

  • Donna Vanney - ELA Teacher
  • Sonya Rodriguez - Health Office Assistant

Jack Barnes Elementary

  • Marcia Hull - 1st Grade Teacher
  • Cassandra Smith - Library Media Assistant

Eastmark High School

  • Ivy Feldhausen - Math Teacher
  • Jeff Brown - Equipment Manager

Katherine Mecham Barney Elementary

  • Jenna Thrall - 1st Grade Teacher 
  • Shawna Shreeve- Library Media Assistant
Queen Creek High School
  • Kevin Honea - Equipment Manager

Queen Creek Elementary

  • Jeff Sutter - Teacher/SPED Resource
  • Brittany Robinson - Administrative Assistant

Crismon High School

  • Elizabeth Ridout - Math Teacher
  • Bertha Patino - Receptionist

QCUSD District Office

  • Dave Doerzman - Business Office - Purchaser

Congratulations to all the award of excellence nominees for their remarkable accomplishments and dedication.

View All News Articles